Roy Chesney Poetry Contest

First Place – $500 Second Place – $200 Third Place – $100

First Time Entrant Winner – $200

(Not previously entered in a Siloam Springs Writers Guild annual contest)

2019 Theme: “Building Bridges”

Author’s choice of Poetic style, Form, and Length

Contest open to anyone within ten miles of Siloam Springs

Entries accepted between August 1 and August 31, 2019.    

Contest Guidelines:

  1. Anyone within ten miles of Siloam Springs is eligible to enter. Qualified writers may submit one entry without charge; for up to two additional entries a $3.00 each contribution will be required. An entrant with more than one entry is eligible for only one prize.
  2. Contest entries are to be original works of the submitter, having been neither published nor awarded as a winner in an SSWG annual contest nor as any state or larger regional-poetry-contest winner.
  3. Each entry must include a cover page with the title of the entry, the first two lines of the poem, “Roy Chesney Poetry Contest, 2019,” submitter’s name and email address and physical home address.
  4. The Author’s name should not appear on any of the poem’s pages.
  5. The title of each entry should appear two inches from the top on its first page and on the cover page.
  6. The poem will be typed in Times New Roman 12 point font, for 8 ½” x 11” page, and left-justified with 1” margins.
  7. Entries are to be free of obscene language.
  8. Each entry will be emailed as a document (.doc or .docx) attachment to <SSWGSiSp@gmail.com> with “RC Poetry Contest, 2019” in the “Subject:” field, or as a hard copy via USPS ($5.00 each fee for re-keying)
  9. For USPS entries, and payment of multiple-entry and/or re-typing fees, mail to Siloam Springs Writers Guild, 1600 Rosewood Lane, Siloam Springs, AR 72761.
  10. Submission will be made by email from August 1 through August 31, 2019, or by USPS through August 26, 2019.
  11. Awards will be announced at an award ceremony October 14, 5:30 P.M., at First Baptist Church, Siloam Springs–access via west entry.


For additional information contact:
Ted Weathers, President
Siloam Springs Writers Guild